Topic: working on a site, need somehelp  (Read 3552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tus-XC

  • Capt
  • XenoCorp® Member
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2788
  • Gender: Male
working on a site, need somehelp
« on: January 06, 2005, 05:57:26 pm »
i'm working on my new site but i've run into quite a snag.  i'm trying to make it compatible with more than one browser (fire fox) but i'm running into a problem with my tables.    It shows up like it should in IE, but in firefox my headings aren't aligning right.  i have news and pics in a table with 3 cells(whcih is also within a table), the middle cell is acting as a spacer.  it appears that it doesn't want to reconize the cell dimensions.  another problem is the scroll bar color, but since i lack the knowledge (found the code i needed online)  it really doesn't bother me all that much.    if anyone can help it would greatly be appreciated

Thanks

Robert

http://outalance.battleclinic.com/tus/
Rob

"Elige Sortem Tuam"

Offline Monty

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2005, 04:01:32 pm »
another problem is the scroll bar color, but since i lack the knowledge (found the code i needed online)  it really doesn't bother me all that much.    if anyone can help it would greatly be appreciated
http://outalance.battleclinic.com/tus/


Just having a look at your code...

Code: [Select]
scrollbar-face-color:93FFFF;
scrollbar-shadow-color:93FFFF;
scrollbar-highlight-color:93FFFF;
scrollbar-3dlight-color:019AFF;
scrollbar-darkshadow-color:93FFFF;
scrollbar-track-color:019AFF;
scrollbar-arrow-color:019AFF;

These CSS properties are IE only... hence why the scroll bars appear normal in non IE browsers.

I don't know if the properties can be simulated using standard CSS but if i think of it i'll post it.

Offline Monty

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 123
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2005, 04:39:24 pm »
It shows up like it should in IE, but in firefox my headings aren't aligning right.  i have news and pics in a table with 3 cells(whcih is also within a table), the middle cell is acting as a spacer.  it appears that it doesn't want to reconize the cell dimensions.

Thanks

Robert

http://outalance.battleclinic.com/tus/


I've looked at your code and i have some thoughts on it.

Code: [Select]
<div style="position:absolute;left:160;top:68">
<table width=420 height=30 border=0>

<tr  valign="top">
<th width="110" height="25">

<div align="left"> <font color="94FFFF" face="FederationDS9Title, arial"><span style="font-size:30"><b>News<b></span></font></div>
</th>

<th width="195" height="25">&nbsp
</th>

<th width="111" height="25">
<div align="left"> <font color="94FFFF" face="FederationDS9Title, arial"><span style="font-size:30"><b>Pics<b></span></font></div>
</th>
</tr>

</table>
</div>

This is I believe the snippet of code you use for the headings.

1)While i'm not sure if its a factor... The combine sum of your cell widths does not equal 420, by my calculation it is 416. Personally I think if you are going to do it like this (using the width parameter) you should use percentages.

2)I think the effect you want to achieve can be done using just two cells.

I'd suggest something along these lines :
Code: [Select]
<div style="position:absolute;left:0;top:0">
<table height=746 width=967 BORDER=0 CELLPADDING=0 CELLSPACING=0>
<tr>
<td background="images/body_bg.jpg">
<div style="position:absolute;left:160;top:68">
<table width=420 height=30 border=0>

<tr  valign="top">
<th height="25">

<font color="94FFFF" face="FederationDS9Title, arial"><span style="font-size:30"><b>News<b></span></font>
</th>

<span style="font-size:30;max-width:111;">
<th height="25">
<font color="94FFFF" face="FederationDS9Title, arial"><b>Pics<b></font>
</th>
</span>
</tr>

</table>
</div>

I'm not sure if my modifications would work... haven't tested it myself. But the principle is to set a max width for the second cell so the first one takes up the rest.

I also think your life would be made easier if you you made use of the class attribute with CSS in order to get rid of your DIV elements which seem to repeat themselves making debugging and understanding the code harder than it should be,

Hope this gives you some food for thought.

Offline Tus-XC

  • Capt
  • XenoCorp® Member
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2788
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2005, 07:18:12 pm »
thanks for the replies.  i will give them a go later when i get done moving to my new room.   if not i'll just use absolute coordinates on thse headings (get rid of that table all together).... that i think will be guaranteed to work lol
Rob

"Elige Sortem Tuam"

Offline Sirgod

  • Whooot Master Cattle Baron
  • Global Moderator
  • Vice Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 27831
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2005, 08:42:22 pm »
I guess I don't know enough about HTML any more, Cuase the site looks good to me Using Firefox.

Stephen
"You cannot exaggerate about the Marines. They are convinced to the point of arrogance, that they are the most ferocious fighters on earth - and the amusing thing about it is that they are."- Father Kevin Keaney, Chaplain, Korean War

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2005, 09:30:44 am »
i'm working on my new site but i've run into quite a snag.  i'm trying to make it compatible with more than one browser (fire fox) but i'm running into a problem with my tables.    It shows up like it should in IE, but in firefox my headings aren't aligning right.  i have news and pics in a table with 3 cells(whcih is also within a table), the middle cell is acting as a spacer.  it appears that it doesn't want to reconize the cell dimensions.  another problem is the scroll bar color, but since i lack the knowledge (found the code i needed online)  it really doesn't bother me all that much.    if anyone can help it would greatly be appreciated

Thanks

Robert

http://outalance.battleclinic.com/tus/


Tus,

FireFox has issues with several level2 W3C compliant CSS codes--especially when you place a table within a div tag. Also keep an eye out for FireFox dislike for some javascripts,  and a few php scripts. Though I haven't been able to track it down, I have run across complaints of it sometimes not rendering XHTML colors correctly.

But, hey, otherwise it's a great browser (just ask the Firefox zealots) that exhibits some of the flaws of an ealier versions of Netscraper (pre Netscape 6.0).

Jerry
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista

Offline Tus-XC

  • Capt
  • XenoCorp® Member
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2788
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2005, 03:18:35 pm »
thanks a bunch.  managed to fix so i'm happy :) (had to use absolute coordinates on the text... removed that table completly)
Rob

"Elige Sortem Tuam"

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: working on a site, need somehelp
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2005, 10:56:01 am »
I guess I don't know enough about HTML any more, Cuase the site looks good to me Using Firefox.

Stephen

You wouldn't, Steve as what happens a lot of time is Firefox simply displays nothing of the table within the div tags...so, while you are unaware that you're missing the site content the site developer does know some her content is missing.

Jerry
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista