Dynaverse.net

Off Topic => Engineering => Topic started by: toasty0 on February 22, 2005, 01:37:49 am

Title: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: toasty0 on February 22, 2005, 01:37:49 am
As does happen more often that not when you're developing a web page, things that work on your development platform don't always work in the real world (uhg, did I just call the Net the real world?). I've been fiddling with embedding Window's Media Players on my web site. I hope that it works, but in need of a little feedback.

Can you guys hit my page and let me know if the player plays the vid? Thanks all for your feedback.

http://www.toasty0.com/

Jerry
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Sirgod on February 22, 2005, 01:40:26 am
Just looked, and If It's supposed to be to the Left of the Recipe King, all I got at the Bottom of a blank space was the cookie has been Wriiten

Stephen
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Monty on February 22, 2005, 04:52:41 am
Just looked, and If It's supposed to be to the Left of the Recipe King, all I got at the Bottom of a blank space was the cookie has been Wriiten

Stephen

Same here. (using firefox btw)
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: toasty0 on February 22, 2005, 09:47:26 am
Do you guys see the player controls at all?

Jerry
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Iceman on February 22, 2005, 10:46:10 am
No (Firefox).
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Ravok on February 22, 2005, 10:51:58 am
Just looked, and If It's supposed to be to the Left of the Recipe King, all I got at the Bottom of a blank space was the cookie has been Wriiten

Stephen

 Same here Toasty , and i see no controls  Fire Fox

 Im going to log off and try with Explorer.


 PS it looks fine with Explorer I see the vid and it works fine.
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: toasty0 on February 22, 2005, 03:41:16 pm
Just looked, and If It's supposed to be to the Left of the Recipe King, all I got at the Bottom of a blank space was the cookie has been Wriiten

Stephen

 Same here Toasty , and i see no controls  Fire Fox

 Im going to log off and try with Explorer.


 PS it looks fine with Explorer I see the vid and it works fine.
Cool and thanks. I thought it might be a Firefox issue.

Btw, how'd you like the vid?
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Sirgod on February 22, 2005, 03:44:01 pm
DOh! , I never even thought to use IE. It seems everytime I use IE, I get some Problems. I can hardly wait though for IE 7.0

Stephen
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Bonk on February 22, 2005, 08:35:13 pm
This tutorial might help?:
http://www.wdvl.com/Multimedia/Windows_Media/index3.html
(says it works for IE and Nestscape)

Sounds like an issue I had with embedding sound files:
<bgsound src='Web_Music_40-5.WAV' autostart='true'>  // Works for IE
<embed src='Web_Music_40-5.WAV' autostart='true'> // Works for Mozilla
... but something funky was happening if I put both lines in... I couldn't be bothered to use a javscript browser detection cuz nobody has javascript enabled anymore (at least they say they don't)... so its virtually useless, one must design for IE or Mozilla, one or the other... or do it all with serverside scripts (php, asp etc..) that detect the browser before sending output...
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: toasty0 on February 22, 2005, 09:22:05 pm
This tutorial might help?:
[url]http://www.wdvl.com/Multimedia/Windows_Media/index3.html[/url]
(says it works for IE and Nestscape)

Sounds like an issue I had with embedding sound files:
<bgsound src='Web_Music_40-5.WAV' autostart='true'>  // Works for IE
<embed src='Web_Music_40-5.WAV' autostart='true'> // Works for Mozilla
... but something funky was happening if I put both lines in... I couldn't be bothered to use a javscript browser detection cuz nobody has javascript enabled anymore (at least they say they don't)... so its virtually useless, one must design for IE or Mozilla, one or the other... or do it all with serverside scripts (php, asp etc..) that detect the browser before sending output...


I'm not sure that tut is valid anymore. When I get some time I'll run some tests on it and see how it goes.

Jerry
Title: Re: Embedding WMP on my web site
Post by: Ravok on February 22, 2005, 11:57:41 pm
  :lol: The vid was hillarious!! :) :thumbsup: