Topic: Info on 2.5.4.12 cloak vs seeking weapons  (Read 17439 times)

SPQR Drall

Re: Cloak Test Results
« Reply #140 on: August 14, 2003, 04:53:21 pm »
OK,

This is a pretty long thread with a lot of detailed argument and testing, thanks all!  

I have been playing Rom for 2 years now and never used the cloak versus a live opponent and be happy at the result for me.  Now, what I would like like to understand is the following:

-  Can I use the cloak competitively in PvP now or is it still a quick way to loose my ship as in the past?

The rest are really details...

- Is is worth going back to re-aquaint myself to the cloaking tactics or am I loosing my time?

SPQR Drall

P.S. BTW, whatever the case is Dave, I really appreciate the efforts you guys put in on those additional versions.  Do not mistake a search to understand how things are with a lack of appreciation from the players.  Still kudos to you for the releases!  
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 pm by SPQR Drall »

JMM

« Reply #141 on: August 14, 2003, 06:11:12 pm »
Dave, I apologize if it sounded like I offended you, that was not the case at all, I would never, ever want speed 80 plasma torpedoes. All I'm saying is that with cloaked ships there should be NO LOCK ON, a balance to this would be for our shields to disappear while cloaked vs direct fire weapons, ouch... Like in the real Star Trek. Cloak should work great, but remember, it is a defensive tool, not an offensive one. If we really had a cloak that worked, then we could enter a battle and the enemy would not know from what vantage point we were until we uncloaked and were ready to fire, ouch for the enemy vessel!  

JMM

« Reply #142 on: August 14, 2003, 06:12:59 pm »
BTW, you love this game and you know it, it has sparked a new interest in the SFC series and is bringing members of SFC3 and EAW together to some extent...  

Lepton1

« Reply #143 on: August 14, 2003, 07:57:47 pm »
Quote: