Topic: Trying to play GW5, need help  (Read 958 times)

Offline KOTH-KieranXC, Ret.

• Spokesman, Punisher Industries
  • Lt. Commander
  • K-Fo, diehard SFCer and Taldrenite, est. 2000
Trying to play GW5, need help
« on: April 02, 2005, 07:10:24 pm »
OK, here's the problem. I'm trying to log onto the D2 and play on GW5. Well, I hit the D2 button in the Multiplayer section and it gives me the 'you have a firewall or are not online' message. I am confused. I'm fully patched, OP+ and GW5 components installed(although I know that's not the problem, as I haven't even had the chance to log into D2 yet).

I'm running Windows XP and and connected to the net through a router. This is my first time trying to play D2 since I got my new computer, and the first time I've had SFC on an XP machine, so I have no idea what's wrong and was hoping one of you more technologically inclined people could help me out.

If any more info is required, I will do what I can to find and post it. Keep in mind though that I'm pretty well hardware illiterate. I know the basic stuff, but if it sounds complicated, chances are I'll just go 'huh?'

Thanks.

K-Fo
"One minute to space doors."

"Are you just going to walk through them?"

"Calm yourself, Doctor."

Offline SkyFlyer

• D.Net Beta Tester
  • Commander
Re: Trying to play GW5, need help
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2005, 08:32:09 pm »
you need to put the computer in the dmz. do you use a linksys router?
Life is short... running makes it seem longer.

"A god who let us prove his existence would be an idol" - Dietrich Bonhoeffer

• Lt. Commander
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2005, 08:33:31 pm »
Yes, it's a Linksys router... again, I'm hardware illiterate. How do I put the computer in the DMZ?

"Calm yourself, Doctor."

Offline Kougar_XC

• Another Red Shirt
  • XenoCorp® Member
  • Lt. Junior Grade
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2005, 09:28:16 pm »