Topic: Are There Any Mechanical Engineers In Here?  (Read 1383 times)

Offline steelspinner

• Lt. Commander
Are There Any Mechanical Engineers In Here?
« on: August 20, 2006, 05:56:23 am »
I have been considering tinkering with a motorcycle engine and am trying to figure out how one would go about converting a small gas engine to run on diesel. If a new head design is nessecary, that's not really a problem, as I am a machinist by trade with access to practically any type of machine, and almost unlimited raw materials, such as billet aluminum. What I can't resolve in my mind, is the conversion from spark plugs to glow plugs, and if the smaller cylinders in a gas engine would work as far as creating enough heat/pressure to allow detonation of the fuel, and what to do about injecting the fuel, I immagine some sort of direct injection system would be best.
The Marine Corps is currently using a diesel Kawasaki 650 that will run 100 mph and get 95 mpg.
The manufacturer is going to sell a limited run to the general public, but the cost is going to be $18,900 U.S. more than eating up any fuel savings one would gain.
Now, a diesel engine will also run on alternative fuels, such as peanut oil. I also want to make a filtering machine to filter used cooking oil to be used in the converted engine. Immagine 95 mpg and a basically free fuel source. I mean in my small town of 22,000 people, I can think of 14 resturaunts / fast food joints / donut shops that deep fry.
I know there's a lot of information on the alternative fuels and bio fuels, but I think if a guy could make a conversion kit for a gas engine, that would be so cool.

Discussions please.
"Si vis paca para bellum"

"Guns don't kill people.
Husbands who come home early do."
Larry The Cable Guy.

Life is pain, anyone who tells you different is selling something.

Nice job Wesley, sleep well, I'll most likely kill you in the morning.

Offline Javora

• America for Americans first.
  • Commander