Topic: HD problem  (Read 1732 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Don Karnage

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2327
  • Gender: Male
HD problem
« on: August 09, 2008, 02:23:14 pm »
i install a new hd on the computer but it will not show.

it is detected when i reboot but it will not show up, any idea on what to do?

Offline Nemesis

  • Captain Kayn
  • Global Moderator
  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 12606
Re: HD problem
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2008, 03:11:48 pm »
FIrst basic questions:

Did you partition and format it?
Do unto others as Frey has done unto you.
Seti Team    Free Software
I believe truth and principle do matter. If you have to sacrifice them to get the results you want, then the results aren't worth it.
 FoaS_XC : "Take great pains to distinguish a criticism vs. an attack. A person reading a post should never be able to confuse the two."

Offline Don Karnage

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2327
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2008, 03:24:31 pm »
no, that's what"s what i want to do, i need to format it but since it won't show i can't format.

i will try to reboot with the cd of windows and see if i can format it.

Offline Nemesis

  • Captain Kayn
  • Global Moderator
  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 12606
Re: HD problem
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2008, 03:31:41 pm »
Before it can be formated it must be partitioned using a program called FDisk that should come with your Windows. 
Do unto others as Frey has done unto you.
Seti Team    Free Software
I believe truth and principle do matter. If you have to sacrifice them to get the results you want, then the results aren't worth it.
 FoaS_XC : "Take great pains to distinguish a criticism vs. an attack. A person reading a post should never be able to confuse the two."

Offline Just plain old Punisher

  • Vice Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 36927
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm not facist, I just like wearing jackboots
Re: HD problem
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2008, 03:39:35 pm »
Go to your control panel: Administrative tools: Computer management

Click on the "disk management" icon on the right.

It should have your new disk drive listed as "Unalocated drive/space".

Right click on the NEW drive (Not your existing C:drive)

And then click on "initilize" or "format".

Select NTFS, full format.

Set the sector size to 512 bytes.

"Sex is a lot like pizza.  If you're not careful you can blister your tongue". -Dracho

Offline Don Karnage

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2327
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2008, 03:52:58 pm »
Go to your control panel: Administrative tools: Computer management

Click on the "disk management" icon on the right.

It should have your new disk drive listed as "Unalocated drive/space".

Right click on the NEW drive (Not your existing C:drive)

And then click on "initilize" or "format".

Select NTFS, full format.

Set the sector size to 512 bytes.

 i did that but format is not there, i remember that i only have partition

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2008, 04:45:48 pm »
Make sure the cables are secure.

EDIT: Also be sure the second drive is set to slave.
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista

Offline Just plain old Punisher

  • Vice Admiral
  • *
  • Posts: 36927
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm not facist, I just like wearing jackboots
Re: HD problem
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2008, 04:58:09 pm »
Not relevent if he's using SATA, btw.

"Sex is a lot like pizza.  If you're not careful you can blister your tongue". -Dracho

Offline Don Karnage

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2327
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2008, 05:08:09 pm »
problem fix, formatting the hd now.

thanks

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2008, 07:25:38 pm »
Not relevent if he's using SATA, btw.


I'm thinking he isn't. :)
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista

Offline Don Karnage

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2327
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2008, 07:26:28 pm »
it is a sata hd  :D

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2008, 07:31:14 pm »
 :-[
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista

Offline Don Karnage

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2327
  • Gender: Male
Re: HD problem
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2008, 07:42:42 pm »
ahhh

don't feel bad for that  ;D