Topic: Star Wars fic....  (Read 4283 times)

Offline Strider

• Ensign
Star Wars fic....
« on: June 25, 2004, 12:13:32 am »
Here's a fic I've been writing off and on for maybe 6 months now. Let me know how it's going, what you think of the characters, etc.

Chapter 1:
The Only Easy Day was Yesterday

Nova stepped off the landing ladder onto an unknown world.  It was dark, nighttime.  The dead of night in fact.  The dark cityscape shone against the background of the mountains that could only be made out because of their snowcapped roofs.  And there was not a single other person around, and Nova was in hostile territory. 

How did I manage this?

Nova stepped down onto the frozen ground.  It was cold, just above freezing.  The sky had a dark pink hue to it.  Another ship flew low overhead and around to Nova?s right.  It was a scout ship, probably looking for Nova. 

Time to get going.

Nova felt for his lightsaber on his belt and started walking.  His R2 unit, Emir, closed the canopy behind him.  ?Keep it warm, Emir.?  The R2 beeped complacently as the canopy sealed shut.  Nova picked out a city in the distance and headed towards it, leaping and bounding downhill with a little Force assistance.  Even though he was only a ?rookie? Jedi Knight, he had still mastered many techniques.

I?m no rookie! 

With one final leap Nova was at the base of the mountain, about half-way between his ship and the city in the distance.  Nova continued at his self-defined Jedi?s pace, and arrived a few minutes later.  He quickly found the establishment he was looking for.  Nova flipped the hood of his dark cloak up and strode in.  He was immediately aware that just about everyone was looking at him. 

Not me, but the saber.  I?ll have to work fast.

Nova sat down at the bar and ordered a quick, soft drink.  He immediately started to talk up the young twilek bartender. 

?What?ll it be, Jedi??

?Is that the first thing that everyone notices??