Topic: Where's my rating?  (Read 19989 times)

KBF-Dogmatix

Re: Where's my rating?
« Reply #140 on: February 13, 2003, 04:40:43 pm »
Quote:

Well here is my totally uninformed supposition.  (Checks sign up date to make sure I am not a newbie)

I think the forums were brought "online" with all the bells and whistles.  So there was no real "decision" to put stars in.  They were default.  Or maybe they weren't.  I completely understand why they were removed.  Their use was mostly punitive, from everything I had seen (and I posted an OT topic specifically to get as many rates as possible) they had mostly to do with whether or not you like what some one said.  While this may be fine for some, I had hoped that they would be used to rate HOW people communicated in here.  If someone constantly trolls give them a one.  If someone always keeps their temper and argues their point (however wrong that point may be !) well, give them a five.  

Why leave the topic ratings.  Well there is nothing "personal" about them.  I use it to rate the usefulness or my opinion of general worth of a thread.  If it is funny, or informative, raises a good question, give it a good rating.  If it is "Bush is Hitler!!!" or "Nuke the Middle East!!!"  well I think you know what I would rate it.  

However when someone like Nanner receives a one star rating after 30 some rates (he at least deserves a 2 ) it is obvious that someone is just out to punish him for his views.  He conducts himself (again in my opinion) as well or better than most of this forum's denizens.  Now keep in mind I think he is nuts in his rabid anti SFB rantings and I personally blame him for me not getting GAW. !!!

So like anything it was something to be tried out and we (as a collective) refused to use it as it was intended.  So it has been removed.  Oh well... I liked them but I totally understand why they were removed.