Topic: The "SFC3 Community TOS Mod" project thread  (Read 22839 times)

Captain KoraH

Re: The "SFC3 Community TOS Mod" project thread
« Reply #40 on: October 29, 2003, 09:36:57 pm »
I've got a lot of experience converting SFC2 ships to SFC3. If you need any help or assistance please let me know.

We've got ships, we've got sounds, we've even got a home page. Now all we need are some custom missions!

Towelie

« Reply #41 on: October 29, 2003, 09:48:23 pm »
Quote:

Quote:

The First Federation was a giant sphere (yes, I'm home early).  

Yeah, you're right. The Fesarius was a huge spherical ship. It was the First Federation Marker buoys that were cubes.

I_Mudd.  

I just realized what you were trying to do when I read about your animated textures. Your right though. Now if only we could get some animated textures in SFC3. I think this was something that nobody really thought about untill now. Animated textures would make it so much more interesting, especially when it comes to damage textures.

Towelie

« Reply #42 on: October 29, 2003, 09:52:24 pm »

Good to hear, I will be reviewing these and getting some practice at it. I think I got too many ships now. I even got battleships for all, if needed.

On average, how long did it take for you to convert a model over? I am about to find out.

SghnDubh

« Reply #43 on: November 01, 2003, 07:26:58 pm »
Bump....Sticky?

Captain KoraH

« Reply #44 on: November 01, 2003, 08:23:05 pm »
Once I set up my "assembly line" for ship conversion, I could do 9 ships a day incluing everything. That included:

1. Eliminate all LOD models.
2. Check the model for hardpoint locations.
3. Check the model for damage point naming (SFC1 used different names) and locations.
4. Check the model size compared to other TNZ models.
5. Use 3DMax to render the TI, VL and BS images of the ship.
6. Make lightmaps if necessary.
7. Make Damage textures.
8. Check break model for stray vertexes that will crash SFC3.
9. Delete all LOD textures.