Topic: Any of you guys ever think about getting published?  (Read 5548 times)

Offline Swordsman

• Lt. Junior Grade
Any of you guys ever think about getting published?
« on: June 28, 2004, 08:24:46 pm »
Go ahead, laugh...

Done yet? No, okay I'll wait...

Okay seriously, Star Trek novels are little more than commercial fan fiction. With expanding series such as New Frontier, Starfleet Year One, and others, you don't even have to write about the regular cast of a series anymore. You can make up your own and (with permission from Paramount) make money writing about it.

I'm probably going to get flamed for this post being about what it is. As a fellow fic writer, I know the credo of doing it for fun, not money. But some of the fan stuff I've read is good enough to be publishable! Hell, I've even thought of doing a novelized series.

Just something to think about.
If it ain't broke, fix it til it is.

Offline kadh2000

• Admiral, of course
  • Lt. Junior Grade
    • Kadh's Empire
Re: Any of you guys ever think about getting published?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2004, 10:29:47 pm »
Paramount does not take unsolicited submissions for ST related fiction.
"The Andromedans," Kadh said, "will never stop coming.  Not until they are all destroyed or we are."

Offline Swordsman

• Lt. Junior Grade
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2004, 12:11:22 am »
Really? That's a shame.
If it ain't broke, fix it til it is.

Offline Hstaphath_XC

• The Official Bard of XenoCorp
  • XenoCorp® Member
  • Lt.
  • Captain, XC Hydran Squadron
    • The XC Bard's Corner
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2004, 10:15:44 pm »
If I can ever finish Monty Python: Return of the King, I'm going to try giving the Python crew first dibs at doing something with it.
Hilaritas sapientiae et bonae vitae proles.

Potemkyn

« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2004, 09:35:54 pm »
Since Taldren is now defunct, I suppose our stories we posted there are ours once again.