Topic: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?  (Read 7161 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Julin Eurthyr

  • Veltrassi Ambassador at Large
  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1057
  • Gender: Male
  • Back in Exile due to Win 7 - ISC RM/Strat Com.
Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« on: July 06, 2004, 02:44:04 pm »
I've got a router set up, and am trying to play D3.

The login screen runs through the first server, and complains about NAT when I hit the second server.

Funny thing is I have my computer out on the DMZ in order to get onto D2...

Any tricks / commands I need to know about?

AKA: Koloth Kinshaya - Lord of the House Kinshaya in the Klingon Empire
S'Leth - Romulan Admiral
Some anonymous strongman in Prime Industries

Fubar

  • Guest
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2004, 11:39:55 pm »
In your SFC.INI file add this line to the Meta Section (at the bottom)

BehindNAT=1

This way it will know to use your "outside ip adress".

Also, either keep the DMZ setting or open the ports needed on the router.

Hope this helps

Offline AdmWaterTiger-11thFleet-

  • Unity Admin
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 492
  • Gender: Male
  • Veni vidi vici
    • Spartan Vanguard
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2004, 11:59:50 pm »
Make sure you have ports open properly and just let the countdown cycle through.

After the first cycle, it doesn't do it again.

<S>

WaterTiger
http://www.spartanvanguard.com/
http://www.stcd.sgnonline.com/users/trimodyards/



KoraH: "Remember my advice to you Wade, that you should drop SFC ...  you will find that all you have to put up with to do so is going to sour the sweetness of your hard work."

Offline Julin Eurthyr

  • Veltrassi Ambassador at Large
  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1057
  • Gender: Male
  • Back in Exile due to Win 7 - ISC RM/Strat Com.
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2004, 10:06:26 am »
Thanks.

Now is it normal for a CL to be basically ineffective?  I keep getting BCHs leading fleets against me.

AKA: Koloth Kinshaya - Lord of the House Kinshaya in the Klingon Empire
S'Leth - Romulan Admiral
Some anonymous strongman in Prime Industries

Offline Lepton

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2004, 11:32:46 am »
SFC3 is goofy with its log on procedure for the first time you log on to the D3.  Expect it to act funny for awhile.  By the way, do you have a software firewall running?  I found that even with my comp in the DMZ and running zonealarm  I had to drop the firewall for it to properly detect my IP address, then I could put it back up and log on.  You might be better off putting the comp back behind the router and setting up the port forwarding table.


System Specs:

Dell Dimension E521
AMD64x2 5000+
2G DDR2 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB GDDR3
250GB SATA HD

Offline GarrethMacLeod

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 126
    • Alternate B Website
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2004, 05:39:20 pm »
I got mine to run with a router and behind a zonealarm firewall. PC sits in the DMZ. I had to make sure I gave rights to Microsoft DirectPlay8 Server and StarFleet Command 3 programs. I also allow incoming and outgoing on UDP ports 6073 and 8085. Seems to work okay although sometimes is a bit...um...laggy? in connecting
Alternate B Chief Map Drone and General Whipping Boy
http://www.AlternateB.org

Offline Julin Eurthyr

  • Veltrassi Ambassador at Large
  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1057
  • Gender: Male
  • Back in Exile due to Win 7 - ISC RM/Strat Com.
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2004, 11:24:13 pm »
No software firewall.  I managed to get on, was a lot smoother once I got some help...

Probably due to my D2 background, I'm a lot more used to CLs or even DDs being fairly effective in solo-ops.  Maybe not planet assaults, but I only won 1 mission so far solo.  Also used to phasers being more effective, oblique approaches (angular velocity shoots those right out the window), and ISC medium plasma to go with my direct-fire PPD.  My impression of D3 plasma is that it's heavily damaging if it hits, but works just like a photon torpedo in OP (long recharge time and misses a lot unless the plasma-firing parameters are in their proper alignment)...

AKA: Koloth Kinshaya - Lord of the House Kinshaya in the Klingon Empire
S'Leth - Romulan Admiral
Some anonymous strongman in Prime Industries

Offline Mace

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2004, 03:56:08 pm »
I just can't seem to get this thing to work.  I'm using a netgear rp614 router with the following ports set up to forward:

 # Service Name Start Port End Port Server IP Address
 1 SFC                   47624    47624   192.168.0.2
 2 SFC2                  6500       6515   192.168.0.2
 3 sfc3                   2033       2400   192.168.0.2
 4 SFC31                6073       6073   192.168.0.2
 5 sfc4                   6667       6667   192.168.0.2
 6 sfc5                   3782       3783   192.168.0.2
 7 sfc6                  27900     27900   192.168.0.2
 8 sfc7                  28900     28900   192.168.0.2
 9 sfc8                  29900     29901   192.168.0.2
 10 sfc9                13139     13139   192.168.0.2
 11 sfc10               8085       8085    192.168.0.2

It just continually asks for my IP address which I gave it and is in the sfc.ini file.

Any Ideas??

Offline GarrethMacLeod

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 126
    • Alternate B Website
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2004, 07:49:26 pm »
Did you try placing the PC in the DMZ? That would at least tell you if it's a port forwarding issue or something else. You aren't using WinXP by any chance are you? If so, check the MicroSoft Firewall. Mine got turned on somehow (eyes the dog suspiciously) after having turned it off months ago.
Alternate B Chief Map Drone and General Whipping Boy
http://www.AlternateB.org

Offline Mace

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2004, 09:55:41 pm »
Yeah, I tried the DMZ thing and it had no effect whatsoever.  Can't detect my IP address.

This shouldn't be this hard.  What's the deal?!?!?   >:(

Well, I figured I'd give SFC3 another try on LB5 but i just can't get it to work which is sad cause OP works fine.  Back to coaster duty.

Offline AdmWaterTiger-11thFleet-

  • Unity Admin
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 492
  • Gender: Male
  • Veni vidi vici
    • Spartan Vanguard
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2004, 10:36:19 pm »
The following are ports that need to be open for Dyna and GSA!

These need to be open for Dyna:
tcp 26100 - 26110
udp 2302 - 2400
tcp 27100 - 27110
udp 27100 ? 27110
tcp 8085 and 6073
udp 8085 and 6073

These need to be open for GSA
6667 (IRC) this doesnt need to be open / unless you use
3783 (Voice Chat Port) this doesnt need to be open / ^
27900 (Master Server UDP Heartbeat)
28900 (Master Server List Request)
29900 (GP Connection Manager)
29901 (GP Search Manager)
13139 (Custom UDP Pings)
6515 (Dplay UDP)
6500 (Query Port)

Please Remeber these all have to be open for the dyna!! If you are only GSA based you dont need the dyna ports openned!!

Thank you and if you have any other probs please contact me: Spartacus75@earthlink.net
http://www.spartanvanguard.com/
http://www.stcd.sgnonline.com/users/trimodyards/



KoraH: "Remember my advice to you Wade, that you should drop SFC ...  you will find that all you have to put up with to do so is going to sour the sweetness of your hard work."

Offline Mace

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2004, 10:55:07 pm »
Still no good.  I have all of those ports open and it still asks for my IP address.

Nothing needs to be changed in any of the .gf files since the closing down of Taldren??

Offline AdmWaterTiger-11thFleet-

  • Unity Admin
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 492
  • Gender: Male
  • Veni vidi vici
    • Spartan Vanguard
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2004, 11:10:17 pm »
Still no good.  I have all of those ports open and it still asks for my IP address.

Nothing needs to be changed in any of the .gf files since the closing down of Taldren??

XP? Right?

Check your Network.

SFC3 hates home nets ... Do you have a home network?

Not saying to go DMZ, but can you disable home net?

<S>

WaterTiger
http://www.spartanvanguard.com/
http://www.stcd.sgnonline.com/users/trimodyards/



KoraH: "Remember my advice to you Wade, that you should drop SFC ...  you will find that all you have to put up with to do so is going to sour the sweetness of your hard work."

Offline Mace

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2004, 12:10:18 am »
I got the DMZ trick to work.  So is it in the network settings or the port forwarding??

Offline AdmWaterTiger-11thFleet-

  • Unity Admin
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 492
  • Gender: Male
  • Veni vidi vici
    • Spartan Vanguard
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2004, 12:31:46 am »
I got the DMZ trick to work.  So is it in the network settings or the port forwarding??

Net settings.
http://www.spartanvanguard.com/
http://www.stcd.sgnonline.com/users/trimodyards/



KoraH: "Remember my advice to you Wade, that you should drop SFC ...  you will find that all you have to put up with to do so is going to sour the sweetness of your hard work."

Offline Mace

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • Gender: Male
Re: Any tricks to play this from behind a router?
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2004, 01:14:02 am »
I got the DMZ trick to work.  So is it in the network settings or the port forwarding??

Net settings.

Any tips on where and what to look for??  I'm a UNIX admin not an XP admin