Topic: A Break Model question.  (Read 1599 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Garath9

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
A Break Model question.
« on: March 31, 2005, 01:06:29 pm »
I searched the forum and found milkshape won't do brk_mods, but someone said there were sfc3 utilities
that could. If this is true I'd like to know what ones, or any other help Thanks.

Offline markyd

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2090
  • Gender: Male
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2005, 01:09:01 pm »
I dont think so dude... the .brk model is created in max, by cutting pieces of the ship up.... adding in new faces and applying textures to represent burnt out decks and the like.....

then the model is exported with dummy objects attached and saved as a _brk model... PM me for more inf...

If you do find this software howver let us all know as I have never heard about it ever...

Offline Garath9

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2005, 08:58:38 pm »
What I was referring to was something I_MUDD posted in Sept 03 about Assimview and sfc2ed, Magnum357 also posted about utilities to do this in May 03. Like I said tried searching nothing else mentioned.

Offline Magnum357

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 641
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2005, 01:29:02 am »
Hmm... I do seem to remember asking if break models can be made, but I don't think there are any utilities that can do it.  I think you need Max or some other more powerful 3d modeler to make a true break model.
"I sure am glad I like SFB!" - Magnum357 (me)

Offline Dawntreader

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 255
  • Gender: Male
  • Captain Maverick, USS Dawntreader
    • Dawntreader Shipyard
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2005, 03:17:54 am »
If you don't find a way, do what I do with my kitbashes.  Copy the original file, add the _brk to the name, and mangle it.  It will still be in one peice, but it will be like the Enterprise in ST III.  That is what I did with my Miranda-style assault cruiser.  After kitbashing it, I found that the Nebula-class brk wouldn't look right.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2005, 03:32:19 am by Dawntreader »
Dawntreader Shipyard
"Where sky and water meet,
Where the waves grow sweet,
Doubt not, Reepicheep,
To find all you seek,
There is the utter east."
-'Voyage of The Dawn Treader' C.S.Lewis

Offline Garath9

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Gender: Male
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2005, 01:59:33 pm »
I thought this would be the answer, looks like I go max. Thank's

Offline Scorpion

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
    • Scorpion Mods
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2005, 09:49:43 am »
Yeah I've had this problem for quite some time now.  I can do pretty much everything except make break models with milkshape.   :'(  What I usually do is apply the damage textures to the original model and save it as a break model, but this isn't as cool as seeing the ship explode.  Anyone know where to go to get a copy of max5?

Offline Centurus

  • Bow before the power of my rubber chickens!!!
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8490
  • Gender: Male
  • Master of the Rubber Chicken!!!
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2005, 07:28:44 pm »
You're best bet is to either try Kazaa, WinMX, or go looking around on EBAY or Amazon for a copy.
The pen is truly mightier than the sword.  And considerably easier to write with.


Offline CC22

  • Has been known to kitbash in the name of 'canon'...
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 205
  • Gender: Male
Re: A Break Model question.
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2005, 08:39:33 pm »
You're best bet is to either try Kazaa, WinMX,

But of course one would never do such a thing... :carmen:    ;)
"For I dipt into the future, far as human eye could see, Saw the Vision of the World, and all the wonder that would be..."