Topic: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.  (Read 7376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Stealth

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
    • S31-IKS Forum
Hi, I need to know what is possible and what is not possible with creating mission scripts for SFC3. Let me get to the questions.

1. I wonder if it is possible to set specific mission script to specific coordinates on the map, both for single-player campaign and Dynaverse III campaign.

Example 1, On a specific coordinates (X;Y) there is always the same single player mission to engage.

Example 2, lets say you attack a planet, and the mission is programmed to always give you the same type of planet no matter what race that is attacking the planet on the specific planet coordinate.

I need to know if that is possible, mainly if specific planet mesh and base mesh can be set to a specific mission script that is set for specific coordinates on the campaign map.

If so, is there any sample of such missions scripts as I described above?, then please let me know where I can get the source codes of such script/scripts so I can use them to create my own missions.

<S>

Offline FPF-SCM_TraceyG_XC

  • Empress of the Empire
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2543
  • Gender: Female
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2005, 06:56:52 pm »
Yes, its possible, but only if you use SQL if you want 100% accuracy, and the mission script must be written to read in the map coordinates from the SQL database.
Captain FPF-TraceyG, Federation Protection Fleet


SFC2.net Admin member
SFC3.net Admin member
Voting member of the DGA
Member of XenoCorp, Squadron Commodore

Offline kohlrak

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Gender: Male
  • bortaS bIr jablu'DI' reH QaQqu' nay'.
    • Kohlrak Land
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2005, 09:34:31 pm »
Who need's SQL? Open up an HTTP port with upload and stuff and set it up for txt only and then make a mission that'll log cordinates and victory and no victory and such. Then use fstream.

Stealth, if you find a tut for the sfc3 api, lemme know. I know there are differences from 2 and according to the txt that came with it the sfc2 api has more than just the comm system different, so i really can't go by the only tut for sfc2 api tut. There is non for 3 that i can see.
veqlarghlI' yIbuS 'ej veqlarghwI' vIbuS!!!

Offline Stealth

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
    • S31-IKS Forum
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2005, 06:12:15 am »
Yes, its possible, but only if you use SQL if you want 100% accuracy, and the mission script must be written to read in the map coordinates from the SQL database.

Ok, ty for replying back that its possible. Since I am new to MySQL, could you please give me a sample of the source code how a typical mission script is programmed in order to read specific map coordinates from the SQL database and set the specific mission script to these coordinates? And a similiar sample for planet mission and or base mission when you decide to attack a specific base and or planet on the specific map coordinates?

Ohh and another thing, about MySQL, I installed a newer mysql version then the one Taldren team described to setup from and I runned into a problem.

In the latest serverkit version 1.01 Beta 2 Build 496 supported by taldren, open the the txt file "HOW TO INSTALL AND START A SERVER" and search for "mysqlshow"

When I typed that in my command prompt I got a message that says "mysqlshow: Access denied for user 'ODBC'@'localhost' (using password: NO)"

What am I doing wrong?

I have downloaded the mysql version 5.0.15 instead of v 3.23.54 and installed it properly as they described in the document.

<S>
« Last Edit: October 31, 2005, 06:51:35 am by Stealth »

Offline FPF-SCM_TraceyG_XC

  • Empress of the Empire
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2543
  • Gender: Female
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2005, 03:13:38 am »
Do you have a password set in your ODBC configuration? If so, that could be causing the rror you see.

As for what code is to be placed into a mission script to get it to work with SQL? Well, there is no easy answer to that question. The simplest way is to simply add code to the script that accessed the DB directly, but that would require hard coding ip addresses and not very secure. A better way to do it, is to write a little mini-server program that connects to your SQL database locally, and have mission scripts send/receive queries to that program.
Captain FPF-TraceyG, Federation Protection Fleet


SFC2.net Admin member
SFC3.net Admin member
Voting member of the DGA
Member of XenoCorp, Squadron Commodore

Offline Stealth

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
    • S31-IKS Forum
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2005, 03:32:34 am »
Ok, I will see what I can do.

<S>

Offline Stealth

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
    • S31-IKS Forum
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2005, 04:57:09 am »
I was able to setup my MySQL server so far,however, in the document in the 11th part Taldren tells you to

type

11) Run the script to create the tables fresh:

"source ..\scripts\CreateTables.sql"

I typed

"C:\MySQL\bin>mysql

mysql> source ..\scripts/CreateTables.sql"

And instead I got alot of errors, what am I doing wrong?

Quote
Database changed
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working
ERROR 1289 (HY000): The 'InnoDB' feature is disabled; you need MySQL built with
'InnoDB' to have it working

<S>

Offline Stealth

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Gender: Male
    • S31-IKS Forum
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2005, 02:54:08 pm »
Ok, I got my MySQL working, finally!!. I will contact you personally FPF-SCM_TraceyG_XC. There is alot of questions I need answered.

<S>

Offline FPF-SCM_TraceyG_XC

  • Empress of the Empire
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2543
  • Gender: Female
Re: Questions about SFC3 base-,platform- and planet mission scripts.
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2005, 04:06:31 pm »
Make sure you have your MySQL server running as a service in Windows XP  :)
Captain FPF-TraceyG, Federation Protection Fleet


SFC2.net Admin member
SFC3.net Admin member
Voting member of the DGA
Member of XenoCorp, Squadron Commodore