Topic: A Teacher's Request  (Read 3947 times)

Offline Pharaoh

• Lt. Junior Grade
A Teacher's Request
« on: January 19, 2006, 11:20:49 am »
Howdy all :)

I have a request for the modeling community. I'm a science teacher, and I'm working on putting together a year long project that would encapsulate my entire curriculum, so that we would be able to use a familiar framework over the year to edify concepts learned in class. The basis for this project is a fictitious manned mission to an earth-like planet discovered by the next generation of optical telescopes (the development of these telescopes is real, though the discovery is not....yet).

In order to give the students a sense of realism, I am hoping to include a number of graphical aids. I would like to have a model of the ship to show them, as they will be responsible for helping to 'design' parts of it, or at least account for the necessary infrastructure and functions for an extended deep space mission.

If anyone is up to the challenge, I'm looking for a model for a reasonable deep spacecraft. Nothing Trek-ish. I've seen several models, from NASA and elsewhere, showing ships with exposed framework, self contained living-working areas with separate drive areas. I'd like for there to be sizable solar panel arrays (for use once in orbit of this new world), and reasonable (though not huge) living spaces. I'll post a link to a diagram containing some ideas developed by NASA and Boeing over the years.

http://www.astronautix.com/craftfam/martions.htm

In particular, I thought the designs in the upper right (SAIC) with the large aerobrake were interesting.

I'm just a teacher, so I'm kinda poor and couldnt afford to pay anyone. However, I would of course give full credit to the modeler in question, if anyone would like to try the challenge.