Topic: Mobile rack problems.....  (Read 6406 times)

Offline Centurus

• Old Mad Man Making Ship Again....Kinda?
  • Captain
Mobile rack problems.....
« on: September 30, 2006, 11:18:23 am »
Hey all.  This is a post I made on another forum.  Since I don't wanna retype everything, I'll do a cut and paste.  If anyone knows of what's going on, please let me know. 

Hi all. This is my first time posting, so if this post is in the wrong place, please forgive me. I read the rules and all relevent threads, so I'm pretty sure i'm in the right place.

Anyway, on to my problem.

I recently built a brand new system, and I installed my existing mobile racks into it. Whenever I tried to boot up the hard drive, it wouldn't boot. I thought it was the mobile racks and trays, that they had gone bad, so I bought some new ones and the same problem happened. I plugged the hard drives I have one at a time straight into the new system without the mobile racks, formatted them, installed Windows, and they work fine. I my last computer, I never had these problems, and these are the same hard drives I had before. I always do a clean format when I build a brand new computer.

The new system is an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ installed on a Gigabyte GA-M55Plus-S3G motherboard. The memory is a Kingston DDR2 PC6400 1 gig chip (getting another gig in about a month). The power supply is an Antec Trueblue 2.0 480 watt power supply. The mobile racks are SanMax InClose MDA-96I-BLK. Current operating system is Windows XP Pro w/SP2.

Also installed in the system are the following components:

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 4, Zalman CNPS9500 heatsink, EVGA nVidia 7300 GT PCI-E graphics (given as a gift but upgrading later on), Sony Dual Layer DVD burner DRU-800A, Iomega ZIP 250 ATAPI internal.