Topic: Error when linking  (Read 4846 times)

Pi-R

Error when linking
« on: January 21, 2003, 02:13:25 am »
Hi,

I'm just starting to learn how to write scripts. I have some programming knowledge, but no experience with C++.

I have Visual C++ 6.0 with service pack 5 installed and the SFC2EAW API using NuclearWessels SFC2 Mission Scripting Guide. I started creating his example 1 but when I try to build the script (12.1.1 step 4) I get an LNK2001 error.  See the first part of the build log:

--------------------Configuration: His_TestSkirmish - Win32 Release--------------------
Compiling...
CommonDefs.cpp
MissionMaps.cpp
MissionText.cpp
BaseVictoryState.cpp
BaseVictory.cpp
PlayerTeamBaseState.cpp
PlayerShipBaseState.cpp
PlayerShip.cpp
PlayerTeam.cpp
PlayerNPCTeamBaseState.cpp
PlayerNPCTeam.cpp
EnemyTeamBaseState.cpp
EnemyTeam.cpp
NPC1TeamBaseState.cpp
NPC1Team.cpp
His_TestSkirmish.cpp
Linking...
   Creating library Release/His_TestSkirmish.lib and object Release/His_TestSkirmish.exp
scriptinterfaceR.lib(ScriptStructs.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: __thiscall std::ios_base::Init::Init(void)" (??0Init@ios_base@std@@QAE@XZ)
etc

Can anyone please tell me what might be causing this? Did I forgot something? Has it something to do with the PlayerNPC... and NPC1... files as there are only two teams: player and enemy?

FPF_TraceyG

Re: Error when linking
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2003, 04:45:27 am »
You need to make a few changes to your linker options in your VC++ workspace. By selecting Project -> Settings from the menu bar, then click on the Link tab and make sure you have the following libraries (this is taken directly from my own settings):

Object/Library modules:

sharedr.lib scriptinterfaceR.lib kernel32.lib user32.lib gdi32.lib winspool.lib comdlg32.lib advapi32.lib shell32.lib ole32.lib oleaut32.lib uuid.lib odbc32.lib odbccp32.lib dmp3d_MSVCR.lib sfcTiger_MSVCR.lib dmp3D_MSVCR.lib bugslayerutil.lib cryptlibR.lib ShipList.lib