Topic: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?  (Read 3147 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yochenhsieh

  • Guest
How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« on: September 10, 2007, 09:00:53 am »
Hello,
I want to make my SFC3 mod to be compatible with the server of Dynaverse.net, is there anyone who can help or want to test?

The latest version of my mod is here:
http://www.battleclinic.com/downloads/sfc3/sfc3rex_2007.exe
http://starfleetcommand3.filefront.com/file/SFC3_Rebalance_Expansion_2007;82416
(Choose one of the links to download, both versions are the same.)
The readme file of my mod:
http://yochenhsieh.myweb.hinet.net/sfc3rex2007.txt

The updated 2007.1 installer for switching between stock and mod files, and the sfc3 directory server update:
http://battleclinic.com/downloads/sfc3/SFC3REX_2007.1.exe

Please reply here if you can play online, or if you know what I need to change or fix.

Thanks,

You-Cheng Hsieh
« Last Edit: December 04, 2007, 09:36:54 pm by You-Cheng Hsieh »

Offline worfhonour

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2007, 03:41:42 pm »
Hello.

I might be repeating this update, sorry. :-[

We are trying to create new mod servers.

errors reported:

Quote
" Today i found 3 possible glitches or bugs in Re-expansion 2007. Nr.1 is that when you attack a planet the planet sometimes vanishes. Nr.2 is when you attack a Romulan planet you run into a number of defending ships with cloaking devices but when you target one a bracket is shown around it on your radar screen wich will not vanish when that ship cloaks . It will stay visible on the spot of your radar screen where the ship cloaked. Nr.3 is that when you use a bloodwing the outer most disruptor on the left side is useless cause it has no firingarc and therefor can not be fired. Maybe Mr. You Cheng-Hsieh can do something about these in his next version ?"

Hope this helps, we look forward to your input.

Worfy  :)

yochenhsieh

  • Guest
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2007, 09:46:32 pm »
I've updated the first post with final version of 2007.1, which fixed issue #3.

I see you're very experienced in maintaining dynaverse3 servers. Do you think it's possible to make a server for current Rexpansion 2007.1? If not, may I ask what else I can do to make the mod suit for multiplayer online? What I want is to make minimal changes as possible to enable multiplayer feature, so that players don't need to download large size of updates or fixes frequently. :)

Regards,

You-Cheng Hsieh

Offline worfhonour

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2007, 03:31:16 pm »
Hello,
I have put your mod through hell and back.

Hail to your superb skills i cant crash it.

I  have tried to load a multiplay server using expansion pack 2007 and 2007.1 but the 2 files needs me to create a patch. :'(

Can you now create a new version maybe called ' Expansion Pack 2007 complete'?

Easier to create a server download for multiplay then.

I salute your skills, very well done.  ;)

Great mod.

Worfy  ;D

Offline worfhonour

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2007, 03:48:11 pm »
Hello again,
Stupid Worfy :D

I can consolidate your superb mod  and patch into a single download, but I want your Mod to have the credit it deserves during the  install , e.g. your mod will be named upon install  8)

Worfy  ;D

yochenhsieh

  • Guest
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2007, 09:41:33 pm »
Hello,

There're more than 2400 downloads for RExpansion 2007.0 at sfc3files already, and I believe the numbers is far more than that because people can also download it from battleclinic. It would be very inconvenient if I have to ask players to download another 100MB file again in order to play multiplayer. :(

Could you please send your patch to me, and I make a 2007.2 update, so that people only need to download a smaller file if they have 2007.0/2007.1 already installed? Of course I won't interfere what you do with the server, since I know little about it.

Before I say OK, please don't release anything based on RExpansion 2007.

Thanks,

You-Cheng Hsieh

Offline GFL Offkey

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 212
  • Gender: Male
    • Galactic Foriegn Legion
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2007, 08:36:43 am »
are you talking the access server patch if so thats easy.


Offline worfhonour

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2007, 08:55:30 am »
Hello You-Cheng,
Well i got the 'Expansion 2007.1' running in multiplay without any patches.
It runs very smooth, I have added Pirates and Cardy using a newly created map.

I'll put it into test one more time and then You-Cheng i would like your permission to launch a public server for sfc3.

Worfy  ;D

yochenhsieh

  • Guest
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2007, 06:05:26 pm »
I would like to test it myself before I give any permission. Please PM me the download link. :)

Thanks.

Offline worfhonour

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to make mod compatible with Dynaverse.net SFC3 server?
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2008, 01:04:34 pm »
Hello You-Cheng,
I'll compile an installer tomorrow, i don't have a web site to place it on, but i have unlimited ftp upload and download.
I am not very experience with ftp so i will need your guidance when installer is ready  :-[

The test server is running at present on the 534b server, real cool, again well done ;)

I look forward to you testing  your superb Mod in multiplay,

Worfy  ;D