Topic: Totally Original  (Read 2279 times)

Offline Iceman

• 1st Lieutenant
  • Lt.
Totally Original
« on: August 07, 2008, 11:14:39 pm »
So, this is my first attempt at writing in a few years.  I'd appreciate good honest feedback.  It's just a prologue, but I thought I'd toss it up and see what people think.  I'm trying to write it from the perspective of a participate in the events who is writing a log or memoir of sort about the event.  Let me know what you think. Feel free to rip it apart, I promise I won't be offended/upset!  Side note, no trek in this one though it is set in the future.

Thanks and enjoy!

The last time I had seen Danny, the year was 1945.  It was just after the Japanese surrender.  We had decided then that we were done playing god, so to speak.  Our last attempt at global direction had ended with the deals of millions, so we were content to leave your world in one piece even if that piece was wounded badly.  It was then that we walked forward in time to the year 2275.  There were 9 of us left then.  We represented what was left of the Timewalkers, a race once prevalent in this corner of the universe.  I had thought they all died in the last jump.  But, to my surprise, here he was.  Danny was average height with bright blonde hair.  He stood out in any crowd.  Maybe it was the millennia of experience under our belts.  Then again maybe it was just the hair.

“Danny?”  It was almost a whisper when I said it, I was so shocked.  Clearly he didn’t hear me.

“Danny!” I yelled over the crowd.  His head turned and caught my eyes.  For a moment, he too was just as shocked I as was.  It would seem we had made the same assumption all those years ago.  I dropped some money on the bar a slide out the front door to follow Danny.