Topic: sprites.q3 Editor!  (Read 17578 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #40 on: February 04, 2016, 02:56:26 pm »
There are another things we can do atm.
Like adding some interface elements... ;D

I finally found the ultimate weapon to defeat you in a duel!!
The hidden developer interface. **** evil laugh ****



But we can add another things more pratical.
Some things aren't updated (like the current state of certain elements), but other things work well,
like buttons, sliders, etc.

A person can design something...
It is crazy what we achieved this last weeks, rigth TarMinyatur?

We need to celebrate a bit!
« Last Edit: February 12, 2016, 06:21:50 am by d4v1ks »
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #41 on: February 04, 2016, 03:17:55 pm »
I will look into it Adam.
Maybe i will add it to the shipUI interface in the Q3_Editor.
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline Corbomite

  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2940
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #42 on: February 04, 2016, 03:21:15 pm »
It would be nice to have all available to be able to customize things more. I wouldn't think that all 25 could show up on one UI anyway w/o overlap or interference (except maybe a BB or a Borg Cube). You'd just have to design with the philosophy of "just because I can, doesn't mean I should".

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #43 on: February 04, 2016, 03:40:40 pm »
Quote from: d4v1ks
I finally found the ultimate weapon to defeat you in a duel!!
The hidden developer interface. **** evil laugh ****
Ha, ha, ha. Kobyashi Maru.

Does "Destroy Target" actually work?

Adam, I can upload pictures of the necessary sprites edit later tonight. Basically, the first step is to increase the total hardpoint counter by 1. Then insert 16 bytes (int offset, int x-coordinate, int y-coordinate, int descending_index) to enable the new phaser hardpoint. The offset for your extra phaser will be similar to the last available phaser slot, maybe just two bytes downstream.

Corbomite, I agree. There would potentially be lots of overlap. Maybe we could make a new generic UI called "ALL" which would enable 25 hardpoints . You could then customize it for a Borg Cube, playable planet, or a Dysonsphere.

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #44 on: February 04, 2016, 03:45:46 pm »
Does "Destroy Target" actually work?

Not in singleplayer. Haven't tested it further.
But the heal button works, and the turn rate and charge slider.
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline Corbomite

  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2940
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #45 on: February 04, 2016, 03:54:02 pm »
LOL, what could you possibly throw at a Dyson's Sphere that would dent it?  :laugh:

Offline Javora

  • America for Americans first.
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2692
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #46 on: February 04, 2016, 06:33:26 pm »

I finally found the ultimate weapon to defeat you in a duel!!
The hidden developer interface. **** evil laugh ****

I'm wondering if you inadvertently found the hand of Bethke...

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #47 on: February 04, 2016, 10:08:18 pm »
LOL, what could you possibly throw at a Dyson's Sphere that would dent it?  :laugh:
I don't know. Doesn't every structure have an Achilles heel? ...and now I must listen to Achilles Last Stand...

The mighty arms of Atlas might dent a Dyson's sphere.

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #48 on: February 04, 2016, 10:33:58 pm »
...my galaxy class needs an extra phaser but I can do it at the moment.

Here's the first step for the horizontal image of the FBB. (The second step is for the vertical. The third step is for the Vessel Library.)

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #49 on: February 05, 2016, 12:49:24 am »
Second step:
Had to push the two hardpoints in the aft row to the left to make room for the new phaser hardpoint (containing a 1xPh2).

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #50 on: February 05, 2016, 01:20:16 am »
Step 3:

Offline Corbomite

  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2940
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #51 on: February 05, 2016, 04:55:18 am »
LOL, what could you possibly throw at a Dyson's Sphere that would dent it?  :laugh:
I don't know. Doesn't every structure have an Achilles heel? ...and now I must listen to Achilles Last Stand...

The mighty arms of Atlas might dent a Dyson's sphere.

Yeah, but you'll have to wait until April.   ;)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #52 on: February 06, 2016, 07:53:47 pm »
Spent this afternoon trying to make the multi-panels work.
I did managed to make some controls get updated in the process, like the shield's buttons (now turn green when they are raised or reinforced). Some bars get filled too.
I was really hoping it could be a start of something... but in the end turned out to be a little frustrating. I was really hopping that the taldren' programmers had build a more generic algorithm to handle the user input, that would allow adding more panels/controls, but they seems to be heavily hardcoded. And it makes sense. Its much faster.

Anyway this was what i was trying to do...  :-\

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=5BEA448F9325A62B!47038&authkey=!AO4KOPq71ubnG00&ithint=file%2cmp4

Still have some last experiments to do. But i dunno if it will ever be possible with the current limitations.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2016, 08:04:30 pm by d4v1ks »
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #53 on: February 06, 2016, 08:28:59 pm »
The sprites work till 1920x1200. I didnt forgot you.   ;)
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #54 on: February 07, 2016, 03:32:16 am »
I think there is no limit to the number of sprites/assets you can add.
I created a unique image of 200x1200 to replace the stock one, and removed all the extra panels on the left side. So each race has only 1 left panel that is common to all the resolutions' layouts.
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #55 on: February 12, 2016, 12:49:49 pm »
After waste my time this week trying to find a way to incorporate multi-panels in CE, i turned my attention to SFC3...
And "viola", i managed to make SFC3 run in full HD too!  :)
It works in a very similar way to CE and OP.

So, it deserves a patch!  :rockinband:

I will start working on it as soon i have some patience.
The adventure on the sprites.q3 is getting close to an end.
Spent almost 2.5 months on this.
And there is not much more that can be done.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2016, 01:11:48 pm by d4v1ks »
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

yochenhsieh

  • Guest
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #56 on: February 12, 2016, 08:17:02 pm »
After waste my time this week trying to find a way to incorporate multi-panels in CE, i turned my attention to SFC3...
And "viola", i managed to make SFC3 run in full HD too!  :)
It works in a very similar way to CE and OP.

So, it deserves a patch!  :rockinband:

I will start working on it as soon i have some patience.

Thank you for making SFC3 wide-screen compatible.  :)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #57 on: February 27, 2016, 09:17:08 am »
There has been some interest on the HD patches recently.
I want to announce that i've updated my q3_editor to work with all the SFC versions, and allow any kind of custom resolution!
I just need to finish some details on the sfc1/sfc2 eaw sprites.q3 files, so each resolution could have its own left panel to customize, and not having all those extra panels floating around when we change resolution.
I'm also looking on a way to let people increase their size so when you adjust any resolution those are taken in account! Cause you can resize things, you know? Make it larger to play in a tablet, for example. You just don't have the tool for it yet.

The code i have to edit the sprites.q3 is very good.
You can display/copy to clipboard any sprite or layouts; call any asset by name or index; see how they are connected in a object's tree.
You can add, remove or replace any sprite or asset in the fly.
it allows to upload, create or download sprites in 8, 16 and 24 bits, compressed or not.

But i've not completly mapped all the assets yet.
Studiyng unknown byte structures don't play nicely with my personality.
As i think it is a waste of time when, we realize that, the complete information about the assets has been available since 2008.
Make us think right?

But hey! Who can't say it is not a cool tool?   ;)
« Last Edit: February 27, 2016, 09:45:35 am by d4v1ks »
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 682
  • Gender: Male
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #58 on: March 06, 2016, 09:16:37 am »
Hi all,
Today i've made a little video about how to fix an ship's UI in the Q3_Editor.
The ui's issue was found by Corbomite.
On the future, if anyone is willing to make any video tutorials, you are very welcomed, as my english is not the best.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=5BEA448F9325A62B!49762&authkey=!AD-iQvLJG5to3LY&ithint=video%2cmp4

(The keys i used in the Q3_Editor are on the first page of this topic)
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline Corbomite

  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2940
Re: sprites.q3 Editor!
« Reply #59 on: March 22, 2016, 06:36:30 pm »
Could we possibly get the new commands for the latest edition of the editor?

Thanks.