Topic: Xeryx's Kitbashing  (Read 4927 times)

Offline xeryx

• Lt. Junior Grade
Xeryx's Kitbashing
« on: January 28, 2017, 10:07:27 pm »
So I am brand new at kit-bashing models, and am just learning the basics right now.  Of course, 3Ds Max is a real pain to learn, but I am stumbling through it.

Here is my first Kit-bash, Adam made the Excelsior with the Mega-phasors attached originally after I showed him some blueprints of it.  I really wanted an Excelsior BB that looked good, so I added some engines and redid the hardpoints.  I think it turned out pretty fair. She will be a real ball buster!

She isn't for release yet, in case you are wondering. I finished up the rest of the hardpoints and everything is now working as it should.

I also made some nifty UI's for it.

« Last Edit: February 01, 2017, 04:52:41 pm by xeryx »

Offline d4v1ks

• D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
Re: Xeryx's Kitbashing
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2017, 04:33:09 am »
Good work.
Looks great!  :)
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline TarMinyatur

• Lt.
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2017, 03:56:09 pm »
Well done.

Not sure if two Klink C7's (360 bpv total) could easily destroy it. Let's see...range-8 passes with a +2 shift against 8 forward-firing OL Photons? The Ph-4 are LS/RS or FAR/FAL? Ph-G's and AMD6 take care of 8 slow missiles each turn. The Klinks would hope the Fed would get impatient and fire all the Photons at 16% accuracy and then get in a knife fight with 20 Ph-1s vs 10 Ph-1s. The Ph4s would likely be hit&run if a shield were cracked. Now if the Fed BB has an atypically high HET success rate, then it has a chance of survival. If the breakdown is 50% then it can't afford to let the C7's attack its flanks.

Offline TAnimaL

• Lt.
    • Combat Logs from the Cold Depths of Space
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 12:17:38 pm »
any tactical plan that hinges on your hopes that the opponent "will do x" is doomed to failure....

Offline xeryx

• Lt. Junior Grade