Topic: Python question  (Read 5696 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NJAntman

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1565
  • Gender: Male
  • Jusssst short of a 1000 Taldren posts, damn!!
Python question
« on: May 04, 2009, 04:03:00 pm »
What is it?

I want to install pyTivo to get PC to Tivo access but the pyTivo site lists Python (version 2.4 or higher but not 3.x) 32 bit version as a requirement.

Python sounds familiar, where can I check to see if it may already be installed?
G.R.I.P. - Great Rid of Incumbent Politicians

Offline Lepton

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Python question
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 06:54:07 pm »
Are you serious?   For me, it's the first results on a Google search, with the second result being a link to downloads.  There's even a link to Windows Python binaries on the page for PyTiVo.

http://pytivo.armooo.net/wiki/WindowsInstall

Try to make the slightest effort, won't you?


System Specs:

Dell Dimension E521
AMD64x2 5000+
2G DDR2 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB GDDR3
250GB SATA HD

Offline marstone

  • Because I can
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • Gender: Male
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
Re: Python question
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 10:13:11 pm »
Are you serious?   For me, it's the first results on a Google search, with the second result being a link to downloads.  There's even a link to Windows Python binaries on the page for PyTiVo.

http://pytivo.armooo.net/wiki/WindowsInstall

Try to make the slightest effort, won't you?


He found the sight it listed as what version of python he needed and was wondering how you check his system if he had it installed.

I can't help you there.  Python is a scripting language, I don't have it installed on my machine so can't help you on how to find out what version you have.  Do a check on just python, it should get you to a place that can help you out. 
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.

Offline NJAntman

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1565
  • Gender: Male
  • Jusssst short of a 1000 Taldren posts, damn!!
Re: Python question
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 10:56:05 pm »
The effort I'm making is to get some insight from those who may have knowledge into what python is. It could be a sarcasm generator from what little exposure I've had to it.

Thank you Marstone for categorizing it as a scripting language, that does help. I remember scripting being mentioned on forums at Alcohol120 and DAZ. I can start digging there for some helpful reads on it.   
G.R.I.P. - Great Rid of Incumbent Politicians

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: Python question
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 11:09:02 pm »
I will teach you python and javascript and vbscript and ruby on rails and php for a small fee...
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista

Offline marstone

  • Because I can
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • Gender: Male
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
Re: Python question
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2009, 01:35:41 am »
The effort I'm making is to get some insight from those who may have knowledge into what python is. It could be a sarcasm generator from what little exposure I've had to it.

Thank you Marstone for categorizing it as a scripting language, that does help. I remember scripting being mentioned on forums at Alcohol120 and DAZ. I can start digging there for some helpful reads on it.   

no prob, I have read alittle on Python, my son is working with LUA (another scripting language).  They are interesting.  After I get my grip on C++ again, I will probably start to work on learning a scripting language or two.  (QUIL if I can ever find anything on it, for SFC).
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.

Offline toasty0

  • Application.Quit();
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 8045
  • Gender: Male
Re: Python question
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2009, 09:39:23 am »
The effort I'm making is to get some insight from those who may have knowledge into what python is. It could be a sarcasm generator from what little exposure I've had to it.

Thank you Marstone for categorizing it as a scripting language, that does help. I remember scripting being mentioned on forums at Alcohol120 and DAZ. I can start digging there for some helpful reads on it.   

Is there a particular project or task you have in mind?
MCTS: SQL Server 2005 | MCP: Windows Server 2003 | MCTS: Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist | MCT: Microsoft Certified Trainer | MOS: Microsoft Office Specialist 2003 | VSP: VMware Sales Professional | MCTS: Vista

Offline Czar Mohab

  • Faith manages.
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 564
  • Gender: Male
  • Chewie - Go jiggle the handle!
Re: Python question
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2009, 10:13:31 am »
To find if you have it installed is just a matter of doing a search for "python" on your computer. Find "python.exe" and double click. Version should be in the first line, in my case:

"Python 2.6.2 (r262:71605, Apr 14 2009, 22:40:02)"

For me, the directory is in "D:\Program Files\Python26"; it was a required component to get Blender to work. And since I have it, I'll probably end up tinkering with it. From what I understand, it is versitile, powerful, and free. The rest I'll learn as I go.

With some simple scripting, you could probably make a sarcasm generator with it. :D

Czar "Photons have mass? I didn't know they were Catholic!" Mohab
US Navy Veteran - Proud to Serve
Submariners Do It Underwater - Nukes Do It Back Aft - Pride Runs Deep
Have you thanked a Vet lately?

Subaru Owners Do It Horizontally Opposed!
Proud Owner - '08 WRX - '03 Baja - '98 Legacy

Offline NJAntman

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1565
  • Gender: Male
  • Jusssst short of a 1000 Taldren posts, damn!!
Re: Python question
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2009, 11:31:56 am »
The effort I'm making is to get some insight from those who may have knowledge into what python is. It could be a sarcasm generator from what little exposure I've had to it.

Thank you Marstone for categorizing it as a scripting language, that does help. I remember scripting being mentioned on forums at Alcohol120 and DAZ. I can start digging there for some helpful reads on it.   

Is there a particular project or task you have in mind?

I want to get pyTivo installed and running so that I can use my desktop's hard-drive to expand the amount of saved Tivo programs we can record and then playback on the Tivo. But I don't like the idea of installing and learning the new program if it has yet another program as a prerequisite; too many unknowns and chances to hose the system. Python will just be collateral software bloat.

But if python is already in there (in the correct version) I'll much more readily start using pyTivo. Thank you Czar for pointing out where to look. Now if as a scripting language I can use it to replace dameon tools for use with Alcohol120 then I'd be more than willing to learn it as well.
G.R.I.P. - Great Rid of Incumbent Politicians

Offline marstone

  • Because I can
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • Gender: Male
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
Re: Python question
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2009, 12:22:16 pm »

I want to get pyTivo installed and running so that I can use my desktop's hard-drive to expand the amount of saved Tivo programs we can record and then playback on the Tivo. But I don't like the idea of installing and learning the new program if it has yet another program as a prerequisite; too many unknowns and chances to hose the system. Python will just be collateral software bloat.

But if python is already in there (in the correct version) I'll much more readily start using pyTivo. Thank you Czar for pointing out where to look. Now if as a scripting language I can use it to replace dameon tools for use with Alcohol120 then I'd be more than willing to learn it as well.

most likely, even if you don't have it, if you just install Python should be anough to run PyTivo.  It needs the Python program installed to run it's own scripts.  You should never have to touch the Python program directly.
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.

Offline Czar Mohab

  • Faith manages.
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 564
  • Gender: Male
  • Chewie - Go jiggle the handle!
Re: Python question
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2009, 12:46:50 pm »
Like Marstone said, it probably is just needed to get PyTivo to work. I don't use Python on its own (yet), but Blender uses it, and I can't use Blender without it.

Pythoin only takes 47.7 MB on my HDD, so it has a relatively small footprint on the 250GB partition I have it on - I'll assume since you're Tivo-ing to your PC that you have a decent sized HDD - you probably won't notice that it is there, and except for a brief "everything is running fine" command window that might be there when you run PyTivo, you'll probably forget about it after a while.

Czar "More spilled knowledge," Mohab
US Navy Veteran - Proud to Serve
Submariners Do It Underwater - Nukes Do It Back Aft - Pride Runs Deep
Have you thanked a Vet lately?

Subaru Owners Do It Horizontally Opposed!
Proud Owner - '08 WRX - '03 Baja - '98 Legacy

Offline Bonk

  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 13298
  • You don't have to live like a refugee.
Re: Python question
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2009, 03:13:13 pm »
Is there a particular project or task you have in mind?


Oh, I have one! :multi: Pick me! Pick me! :multi:

3D Studio Max .mod plugin source + Python scripting in Blender = mod_import.py + mod_export.py  (more SFC modelling goodness!)

Shouldn't be too hard?

While we do have the 3dsmax plugins and the Milkshape plugins, both applications cost money. Thankfully Rod's buddy set us up by recompiling/porting the Max 3/4 plugins for Gmax 1.2 which is free. Problem is that Gmax is very inflexible in import and export options. A fully open source SFC modelling solution would be the bees knees. (think - laying the foundation...)

What got me going on it was coming across Meshlab recently. Plugins for it would be trickier (need to compile QT4 on windows for a build environment), but doable. Then I remembered Blender's Python scripting and that most of it's import and export filters are in python. While Blender's UI is rather unwieldy, it has significant capabilities.

Anyway, I figure translating the c++ max plugins to python for blender should not be that hard. I figure base it on Blender's .3ds filters, but replace the structures with those defined in the max3/4 .mod plugins source.

I'm going to dig a little deeper on the subject tonight to get a better feel for feasibility and effort involved.

Who's game?
« Last Edit: May 05, 2009, 03:28:08 pm by Bonk »

Offline NJAntman

  • Lt. Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 1565
  • Gender: Male
  • Jusssst short of a 1000 Taldren posts, damn!!
Re: Python question
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2009, 03:30:03 pm »
There are some Trek fans over in the DAZ forums and, although I never got into modelling so I'm a bit lost as to what your planning, what you propose sounds familiar. I'll run through the forum over there to see if it is the same, could save you a bit of hassle.

I'm fairly certain it is buried in this thread,
http://forum.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=72832&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
but I've only managed to get back through the first 10 pages so far. Might take a while. :crazy2:
« Last Edit: May 05, 2009, 04:07:02 pm by NJAntman »
G.R.I.P. - Great Rid of Incumbent Politicians

Offline Bonk

  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 13298
  • You don't have to live like a refugee.
Re: Python question
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2009, 03:04:12 pm »
Thanks for the link!

I just went through pages 80-100 of that thread, no sign of it so far. Lots of interesting stuff though.

Offline ReyvinVinnex

  • The Reluctant Nerd
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Gender: Male
  • I am a stranger to myself
Re: Python question
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2009, 06:13:40 pm »
Somebody send me a message if you find that script set, I really wanna get started in Blender.  At least it's working for me, the Gmax plug-in isn't working for me . . .
There's no point in being grown-up if you can't be childish, sometimes
-the 4th Doctor, Doctor Who, "Robot"

Offline marstone

  • Because I can
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • Gender: Male
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
Re: Python question
« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2009, 11:01:20 pm »
Bonk, I went to download the 3D studio max plugin source, but I get a failure on the download (denial actually) anywhere else that might have that code?  I was hoping it would fill in the gaps of what I have figured out of the MOD format and what I don't know yet.

TThanks.
marstone
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.

Offline Bonk

  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 13298
  • You don't have to live like a refugee.
Re: Python question
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2009, 11:42:51 pm »
« Last Edit: August 31, 2009, 12:07:51 am by Bonk »

Offline marstone

  • Because I can
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • Gender: Male
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
Re: Python question
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2009, 11:52:22 pm »
Here ya go:
ftp://www.dynaverse.net/Utilities/Mod_Plugin-3.1.zip

oddly anough it is telling me can't display webpage. hmm.
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.

Offline Bonk

  • Commodore
  • *
  • Posts: 13298
  • You don't have to live like a refugee.
Re: Python question
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2009, 12:08:22 am »
It's an ftp link, its in the folder... perhaps try an ftp client?

Oh heck here, I'll attach to this post.

Offline marstone

  • Because I can
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 3014
  • Gender: Male
  • G.E.C.K. - The best kit to have
    • Ramblings on the Q3, blog
Re: Python question
« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2009, 12:13:04 am »
It's an ftp link, its in the folder... perhaps try an ftp client?

Oh heck here, I'll attach to this post.

that worked.  Yeah, I seen it was an ftp site, thought IE 8 would be smart anough to run it right.  But that is asking alot of IE.
The smell of printer ink in the morning,
Tis the smell of programming.