Topic: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread  (Read 13481 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JanB

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 103
The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« on: August 15, 2015, 05:27:56 am »
So I recently upgraded to Windows 10 (clean install) from Windows 7 and now Starfleet Command 3 doesn't run anymore. Of course I didn't expect it to since the game didn't run on Windows 8.1 either, the game has the same "black screen but mouse visible and audio on" issue as it did under Windows 8.1. No, what's worse is that my compatibility fix for Windows 8.1 (attached to this post) resulted in a crash directly on launch of the SFC3exe, just like it would on Windows 7 (but luckily the game didn't need a compatibility fix under Windows 7 anyway).

Right now there is no way to play SFC3 on Windows 10 because the small changes between Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 apparently made my fix not work anymore. I'm playing around with dll files to see if I can find a new fix but no luck so far and I may not find anything. Of course there is the hope that at some point in the future (perhaps by 2025) we might get Win XP emulators that are just as light (compared to the main OS of the day) and easy to use as Dosbox is today. There is also a tiny chance that future updates for Windows 10 will bring back whatever it was that made my compatibility fix work on Windows 8.1, but I don't think we should be holding our breath...

If you read this thread, could you tell me if the game worked for you on Windows 10, or, if you have the necessary know-how help me find a compatibility fix for Windows 10?

Offline Javora

  • America for Americans first.
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2691
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2015, 07:20:59 am »
I have read that some people have had luck with running SFC in Win7 compatibility mode.  Have you tried that yet?  If there is more than one then I would try them all and see which one works the best or if any of them work at all.  Hope this helps.

Offline JanB

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2015, 07:56:24 am »
Of course I tried that, btw on my old Windows 7 installation I didn't need compatibility settings to run the game. Windows 10 for some reason has different DX9 files than Windows 8.1 so my fix for Windows 8.1 doesn't work either, quite annoying.

Offline JanB

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2015, 11:23:24 am »
I think I figured it out! I've gotten it to run under Windows 10 with a different version of d3d8.dll in the game's directory. The fix is attached. Just as under Windows 8.1 the game will only run in windowed mode, but at least it runs.

Offline TAnimaL

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 740
  • Gender: Male
    • Combat Logs from the Cold Depths of Space
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2015, 01:37:37 pm »
 thanks Jan. Not on Win10 yet but will be on one pc soon, and I've been meaning to try SFC3 install on 8.1 anyways

Offline JanB

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2015, 11:42:36 am »
You're welcome, I expected Windows 10 to put up much more of a fight than it did. I'm just glad I an still play the game on my new PC.

Btw, if you use these compatibility fixes without my mod then you might want to set "BlueLight=1" to BlueLight=0" in the SFC.ini file, otherwise you will have blue phasers instead of yellow phasers.

Offline FPF-DieHard

  • DDO Junkie
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 9433
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2015, 10:25:23 am »
Anyone have any luck getting OP to work in 10?
Who'd thunk that Star-castling was the root of all evil . . .


Offline JanB

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2015, 01:43:34 pm »
If the problem you encounter with SFC:OP is a black screen with music playing in the background then there's a fair chance my fix will work for it too. Put the d3d8.dll file in the game's directory and run the game in windowed mode (in SFC3 you do this by setting "windowed=1" in SFC.ini).

Offline FPF-DieHard

  • DDO Junkie
  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 9433
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2015, 02:26:24 pm »
If the problem you encounter with SFC:OP is a black screen with music playing in the background then there's a fair chance my fix will work for it too. Put the d3d8.dll file in the game's directory and run the game in windowed mode (in SFC3 you do this by setting "windowed=1" in SFC.ini).

Will that work at 32 bit color?   I don't seem to be able to drop to 16 bit on my Surface.
Who'd thunk that Star-castling was the root of all evil . . .


Offline JanB

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2015, 02:52:15 pm »
Will that work at 32 bit color?   I don't seem to be able to drop to 16 bit on my Surface.

Only one way to find out I guess... You can set the game to run in 16bit color mode using compatibility settings, but I didn't have to do that to get SFC3 to work.

Offline gilderan

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2015, 02:16:50 am »
Hi all, has anyone had problems even getting the setup.exe to run. On my win 10 system, I have executed it with Win XP SP 2 compatibility on but nothing seems to happen. I can see it running as a background process on task manager though.
[Edit] I purchased SFC CE and installs sweetly (once I RTFM and used MagicISO to extract the iso:) )
« Last Edit: December 05, 2015, 05:56:52 am by gilderan »

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2015, 07:15:38 am »
Atm i can comfirm that sfc2eaw, sfc2ce and sfcop run perfectly in windows 10, without any trick or compability mode. You just need to install in a "safe" folder and make a small tweak on sfc.ini

It works!
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline Bernard Guignard

  • Cad Schematics are our Speciality
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 845
  • Gender: Male
  • Trek Canon!!! I NO believe in TreK Canon!!!.
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2015, 08:33:15 am »
Can I load from set up on the cd or do I need to take the program off the cd and then do the set up in the Safe folder ?
Live Long and Prosper Technically
Bernard Guignard
Project Manager TreknoGraphx
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/treknographx_starship_design/?yguid=89237652

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2015, 08:35:45 am »
I installed all from iso files i have on my backup hard-drive. All setup run without problems in my case.
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline zerosnark

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2015, 08:21:26 pm »
Atm i can comfirm that sfc2eaw, sfc2ce and sfcop run perfectly in windows 10, without any trick or compability mode. You just need to install in a "safe" folder and make a small tweak on sfc.ini

It works!

Any hint on what that small tweak is?

BTW: Thanks to the folks here, I am ALOT closer to making this run.

I had a HD crash, so I was "forced" to upgrade to Win10. And upgrade the graphics card. And get a new box.. . but I digress... .

Installation from the original CD was a disaster, but I brute copied all the files from my old drive/box to the "Documents" folder on the new rig.
I have the game fired up with the proper aspect ratio.
BUT.. . it seems like the game pukes at some point during battle.
    I think it doesn't like the high res model files I used to run. . .
    I suspect I need top do something with the NVidia control panel (that is how I got the aspect ratio to work)

. . . any clues appreciated.

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2015, 08:29:14 pm »
[Mouse]
async=0
hwblit=0

remove the gameplay spikes.
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline zerosnark

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 104
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2015, 08:36:57 pm »
Hey! Thanks so much. . . I just found that in another thread.

The spikes seemed to actually bomb the whole program.....most annoying; as I couldn't bring up task manager to terminate the program.

It seemed to be working in the one game I tried... . .until I tapped the windows key. . . .   more experimentation to follow.

Edit:
    Yes, I definitely have it working now.
 
    I cannot tell you guys how happy this makes me  :D

    Frankly, I was sort of dreading Windows10 because I was afraid it would break this game -> so when my hard drive crashed, I was most irritated.
    (win 7 re-install in 2015 to a fresh drive seemed like a questionable way to go for non-SFC:OP reasons)

    I was rather dismayed that I could not install from the original disk; but FORTUNATELY, I learned from someone that I could simply copy all the files from the old drive. . . put in the CD key. . .and go.
    OK -> now have added the entire game folder to my "clean install archive".
    Which helps. . . .I have a LARGE number of models from back in the day that I like to use :)

Thanks again!


« Last Edit: December 17, 2015, 09:03:31 pm by zerosnark »

Offline AScout1

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2016, 08:54:59 am »
I am not certain if this is Windows 10 issue or a bug.  I have now had SFC: CE crash on me several times and it seems to be fairly consistent around the use of plasmas at range 0-1.  I have set the .ini files as recommended and have the game in a "safe" location.  This one problem, though, seems to persist.  Any thoughts or recommendations?

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2016, 09:25:44 am »
You say that you can start the game, play without any problems, and when you fire plasma at range 0-1 the game crashes?
If you don't play with a ship with plasma everything is ok?
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2016, 10:56:16 am »
We may have found our first bug related to all the alterations made to the CE. Tar, did you implement the Plasma changes/or point defense changes in the latest patch?

A) it could be Plasmas or b) it could be a result of the other ship attempting to PD the plasma.

Idk. Just throwing ideas out there, I recommend you play a non plasma race and see if it happens. Then recreate the circumstances of the first incident. Need more info.

I didn't change a single byte in the plasma point defense function. I allowed the player, via the SFC_Editor, to redirect the flow within that function, jumping to the "do nothing" decision that already exists.

Unofficial patch 2.675 is vanilla. It doesn't touch the PD function.

AScout1, what version of CE are you playing? Does it crash in a skirmish? Does it crash in the Dynaverse campaign? If you are playing a 2.670 campaign, then you may be encountering the bug that always crashes the game when you are about to destroy an Orion Pirate ship (with your point-blank Plasmas, for example) in a specific Patrol mission. 2.675 removes this bugged mission.

Offline AScout1

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2016, 11:09:34 am »
Yes, I can play the game with no problems until I play a plasma race or a plasma race is played against me.  At PB range, it seems that a plasma is fired and the game locks.  As to why I let a plasma race fire at me at PB range well....... :crazy2:

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2016, 11:10:20 am »
I did some runs, and was hable to fire plasmas at range < 1.0 without any problems in SFC CE.
What race and ship are you using when it crashes?
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline AScout1

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2016, 11:45:34 am »
I believe it was Fed (against Rom) and ISC against some nameless bandit of some sort.  I don't know the version but considering I just purchased it from this site a few days ago, I would imagine it has the latest patch.  I will see if I can find the ver number tonight.  And I have to admit that my sample size is only 2 and that I am only playing the CE single player campaigns.  I have not fooled around with Skirmish or Dynaverse (what's a Dynaverse?  Can I have one?  :laugh:), although, if I recall, one of the tutorials similarly crashed.  I have not really had a trouble shooters eye towards this so it is rather anecdotal at this point.  i will try to be more attentive and let you know here what I see.

Thanks for responding quickly guys!  Obviously I am new to this software and my IT skills rather limited but I will do the best I can to scope this out........

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2016, 11:58:47 am »
If you are just playing the campaigns then probably its that mission TarMinyatur talked about, that is bugged.
You can fix that by installing this patch we created this year, that fix the single player campaings.

http://www.dynaverse.net/forum/index.php/topic,163394407.msg1123051003.html#msg1123051003

Apart from that, yes that are some times where the game will randomly crash. But overall its ok.  ;)
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline AScout1

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #24 on: January 08, 2016, 12:33:52 pm »
I will do so.  And the crash itself seems to be inconvenient at worst since there seems to be an automatically saved game from just before the combat.  That function seems to be working well so far, so the crash is annoying but not a complete time waster - which it would since this seems to be one of those games that has no save game function.  The game itself is very good and, as an old SFB guy, for a real time implementation, it is still good.  Although, I will echo what someone else said.....I do miss the turn phase charts.  Those were a huge part of the tactical enjoyment of the SFB game design.  Thanks again!  i will post here to let you know if those crashes disappear after implementing the patch.......

Offline AScout1

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #25 on: January 08, 2016, 03:43:31 pm »
Well, I cannot find a version number nor can a find a save game option.  Where would you find those?

Offline AScout1

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #26 on: January 08, 2016, 03:47:18 pm »
 :crazy2:


version 2.6.6.0 and nevermind about the save game button.  It just didn't slap me upside the head the first time.  I will update via the link sent and see if that takes care of it.  Thanks again!

Offline thomasrolling

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #27 on: March 06, 2016, 11:10:31 am »
Hello, just found this forum recently after I found my old copy of SFC 3 and decided to install it again. I'm playing on a Win 10 machine with screen resolution 1360x768. I downloaded the .dll fix from JanB and it got the game running and seems good to go. My question is, since it runs in windowed mode, is there any way to center the window it runs in? The game loads normally and when I get into an actual mission the bottom of the screen is cut off. As in I can't see the speed indicator or access the bottom buttons in the damage control/shield display. I tried adjusting the resolution on my monitor and moving the windows taskbar over to the right but it doesn't seem to make any difference. Has anyone else had this issue? It's nice to get the game going but sort of a bummer when about 1/8 of the screen is cut off.

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2016, 12:32:31 pm »
I tried adjusting the resolution on my monitor and moving the windows taskbar over to the right but it doesn't seem to make any difference. Has anyone else had this issue? It's nice to get the game going but sort of a bummer when about 1/8 of the screen is cut off.


Give a try on the HD patch that was made for SFC3.
I gives you the opportunity of running your game in 1360x768 (windowed mode)

Order in wich you should install things:

1. Install game from CD
2. Install 534 beta patch

http://www.dynaverse.net/downloads.php?id=50&game=SFC%203#download

3. Install SFC3 HD patch (16:9)

http://www.dynaverse.net/forum/index.php/topic,163394493.0.html

4. Open your SFC.INI file, and make sure "resmode=0"
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline thomasrolling

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #29 on: March 06, 2016, 03:21:32 pm »
Thank you for the prompt reply. I went into the ini file and set resmode=-1 and that fixed it. Game looks good now  :)

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #30 on: March 11, 2016, 07:16:46 pm »
I was been tormented by the lack of perfomance of the SFC games in Windows 10.
I recently upgraded my computer to a much faster machine, and while the game runs smoothly without any problems or compatibility modes, the game in full HD was running in a painful ~10 fps (full screen).
I really hated the idea of running in window mode + software mode, just to extract some aditional fps, while in the process was cutting some visual quality.

Then, for my surprise, and contrary to the ideia i had in my mind for several months, i realized that i had overlooked one simple setting...
Why i didn't tested this before?
Dunno if any of you is using it already...
But my fps jumped to a stable 60 Fps in windows mode with hardware acceleration enabled !?
I was surprised by how the setting in the image below made such a diference...
So i had to share it with who don't know it already.

I'm sorry if i misguided anyone in relation to these settings...
I also recommend that you read these excellent tips from FireSoul on how to take advantage of modern hardware.

I'm like.. what the #$%#$&...

« Last Edit: March 11, 2016, 08:08:53 pm by d4v1ks »
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)

Offline TarMinyatur

  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 835
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #31 on: March 11, 2016, 09:21:52 pm »
That is great, Carlos. 60fps ought to cut the mustard.

Offline Tus-XC

  • Capt
  • XenoCorp® Member
  • Commander
  • *
  • Posts: 2774
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #32 on: March 13, 2016, 03:16:40 pm »
fixed my issues - maybe if ya'll do another patch think about doing a OS check an incorporate for windows 10?
Rob

"Elige Sortem Tuam"

Offline Tumulorum Fossor

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 142
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #33 on: May 31, 2016, 08:02:26 pm »
Reproduced from THIS thread, but pertinent for Win10 compatibility, at least for Orion Pirates!
http://www.dynaverse.net/forum/index.php/topic,163394481.100.html

Okay BIG successes to report I think!
My laptop runs Win10 x86, with native desktop at 1920x1080 resolution.

Installing off the OP CD led to only seeing the graphic with the INSTALL button, which, when clicked, would cause the window to disappear showing the desktop but no install.

Using ISO had the same result.

Trying to copy files from the ISO to a folder on the laptop gave me the .cab files off the disk, but I was unable to expand them.

So, went to a different XP machine and installed OP from the CD, but chose a folder path to emulate what I wanted on my Win10 laptop: ( C:\User\[My name]\Documents\my games ). Incidental note: I did NOT install Gamespy Arcade stuff. This created the default folder substructure but in my Documents folder, ie C:\User\[My name]\Documents\my games\Taldren Software Inc\Starfleet Command Orion Pirates .

I copied that entire folder, folder tree and all (including appropriate subfolders), to a USB drive from the XP PC.

I THEN used regedit on the XP to find [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Taldren\Starfleet Command Orion Pirates]
"Directory"="C:\\Users\\[My name]\\Documents\\my games\\Taldren Software Inc.\\Starfleet Command Orion Pirates", which I selected, and in "File" menu, selected "Export" to save it as file "Starfleet Command Orion Pirates.reg". I copied THAT reg file onto the USB drive as well as the intact extracted folder tree from the SFC OP install.

I ejected the USB drive and brought it to the laptop.  I copied the "Users\[My name]\Documents\my games\Taldren Software Inc\Starfleet Command Orion Pirates" folder from the USB onto my laptop's C: drive, leaving the entire subfolder structure INTACT.

I copied the Starfleet Command Orion Pirates.reg file from USB onto my desktop. Double-clicked on it and OKAYED the installation of the entry into my registry of the Win10 laptop.

For the heck of it, I then ran StarFleetOP.exe to see what would happen. Lo and behold, I got a full screen but low res launch of SFC OP v2500.  I launched the first tutorial, and it was working... for about five minutes, then FROZE. Oh, well...

But I kept on.  I moved the downloaded and unzipped SFCOP 2500-2562.exe patch to the Starfleet Command Orion Pirates folder, ran it, and directed the patch upon the prompt to the proper directory.

i then ran StarFleetOP.exe one again. This time, I got an upper left corner black window on the desktop, and nothing else. No sound, images, or anything. I closed the process with Task Manager.

I THEN performed the 60fps adjustments to StarfleetOP.exe Properties>Compatibility Tab>Settings, ticked the Reduced Color box & set the pulldow bar to 16-bit color.
I also edited sfc.ini under the [3D] section to lowres=6, which corresponds to my desktop resolution as per:
lowres=3  (1366x768 or 1440x900)
lowres=5  (1600x900 or 1680x1050)
lowres=6  (1920x1080 or 1920x1200)

Then, expecting nothing, I clicked StarFleetOP.exe again and...
...OMG it works! I ran the same first tutorial, and kept it running for 10-15minutes without crash.

I still have to install firesoul OP4+.
Carlos, you using firesoul OP4+ with or without models?

And PAGING CAPTAIN ADAM! I need to get the improved space textures PLEASE!

I'm psyched that I THINK this got it working!

Excuse length of post, but I wanted to share, and hopefully get others going in the right direction.  Thanks, Carlos!!!!

PS - Not joking about Captain Adam.  I NEEDS those textures!!!!!

Offline Captain Spadaro

  • should know better by now
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #34 on: August 12, 2016, 11:00:12 am »
I was been tormented by the lack of perfomance of the SFC games in Windows 10.
I recently upgraded my computer to a much faster machine, and while the game runs smoothly without any problems or compatibility modes, the game in full HD was running in a painful ~10 fps (full screen).
I really hated the idea of running in window mode + software mode, just to extract some aditional fps, while in the process was cutting some visual quality.

Then, for my surprise, and contrary to the ideia i had in my mind for several months, i realized that i had overlooked one simple setting...
Why i didn't tested this before?
Dunno if any of you is using it already...
But my fps jumped to a stable 60 Fps in windows mode with hardware acceleration enabled !?
I was surprised by how the setting in the image below made such a diference...
So i had to share it with who don't know it already.

I'm sorry if i misguided anyone in relation to these settings...
I also recommend that you read these excellent tips from FireSoul on how to take advantage of modern hardware.

I'm like.. what the #$%#$&...




I tried this (as well as installing the 2563 patch), and it still isn't working.
"Don't try to be a great man; just be a man, and let history make its own judgments." - William Riker, quoting Zefram Cochrane, to Zefram Cochrane, Star Trek: First Contact

Offline ObsidianShiar

  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #35 on: August 12, 2016, 03:26:38 pm »
You don't need any of that. Just go to your SFC game's directory (whether it's SFC 1, SFC 2 EAW, SFC 2 CE or SFC OP), open sfc.ini with Notepad, find the "async=1" entry and change it to "async=0". Early game crashing fixed.

Offline Captain Spadaro

  • should know better by now
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #36 on: August 12, 2016, 03:35:07 pm »
You don't need any of that. Just go to your SFC game's directory (whether it's SFC 1, SFC 2 EAW, SFC 2 CE or SFC OP), open sfc.ini with Notepad, find the "async=1" entry and change it to "async=0". Early game crashing fixed.
It's already set at 0.
"Don't try to be a great man; just be a man, and let history make its own judgments." - William Riker, quoting Zefram Cochrane, to Zefram Cochrane, Star Trek: First Contact

Offline Captain Spadaro

  • should know better by now
  • Lt. Junior Grade
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #37 on: August 15, 2016, 07:17:28 am »
You don't need any of that. Just go to your SFC game's directory (whether it's SFC 1, SFC 2 EAW, SFC 2 CE or SFC OP), open sfc.ini with Notepad, find the "async=1" entry and change it to "async=0". Early game crashing fixed.

It's already set at 0.




But it's true.
"Don't try to be a great man; just be a man, and let history make its own judgments." - William Riker, quoting Zefram Cochrane, to Zefram Cochrane, Star Trek: First Contact

Offline d4v1ks

  • D.Net VIP
  • Lt.
  • *
  • Posts: 678
  • Gender: Male
Re: The great Windows 10 compatibility thread
« Reply #38 on: April 28, 2017, 02:45:51 pm »
I had some problems recently, after updating my desktop to a fresh Windows 10 "Creators Update" installation.
The game was starting well, but crashing after some seconds...
But fear not!
There is a way to solve it!


« Last Edit: April 28, 2017, 05:11:34 pm by d4v1ks »
"But he isn't wearing anything at all!" (The Emperor's New Clothes)